On 23 February 2021, the Department of External Education and Professional Training of the Open University of China (OUC), together with the OUC Credit Bank, the Experimental School, and the Department of Student Affairs and Teacher Development, visited New Future Online Education Group (NFOEG) for a cooperative investigation into the Entrepreneurship and Small Business (ESB) certification of innovation and entrepreneurship (hereinafter abbreviated as ESB certification).

The presidents’ meeting of the “Consortium for Benchmarking Framework and Data Set for Online, Open, Smart, and Technology-enhanced Higher Education” (Consortium for Benchmarking Framework in short) sponsored by Hamdan Bin Mohammed Smart University (HBMSU) was held via video conference on 17 February 2021. Dr. Jing Degang, president of the Open University of China (OUC), attended the meeting and delivered a speech.

On 27 January 2021, the Open University of China (OUC) held a meeting for the start of the construction of its “One Network and One Platform” informatisation project. The meeting was attended by Lin Yu, OUC vice president, as well as responsible personnel from relevant departments and representatives of contractors. The members of the project work teams watched the meeting live online.

Editor’s notes: The Open University of China (OUC), together with such units as the Office of the China National Working Commission on Ageing (CNWCA), launched the Open University for Older Adults (OUOA) on 28 January 2015.

On the morning of 18 January 2021, after 37 years of operation, Hainan Radio and TV University was officially renamed Hainan Open University (OU), ushering in a new era of strategic transformation and upgraded development. On the same day, an opening ceremony for Hainan OU was held along with Hainan TV Evening School of Rural Revitalisation and Hainan University of Rural Revitalisation.

Recently, the Publicity Department of Liaoning Provincial Party Committee, Liaoning Provincial Office of Spiritual Civilisation, and Liaoning Provincial Poverty Alleviation Office awarded 10 comrades in Liaoning Province with the title of “Liaoning Good Men: Heroes of Poverty Alleviation.” Comrade Liu Jiancheng from Liaoning Open University (Liaoning OU) was one of the honourees.

"Shan...Hai...Yu...Xian..." Clear pronunciations of Chinese characters could be heard coming from the culture auditorium in Qiujiashan Village, Ningbo City. A group of older Chinese with reading glasses were sitting upright and earnestly reading out the characters in their Ningbo dialect, and passersby hearing them knew they belonged to the literacy class for seniors in the neighbourhood.

A ceremony for the renaming of Anhui Radio and TV University (Anhui RTVU) as Anhui Open University (Anhui OU) was held on the morning of 20 January 2021.