The 2011 annual conference of the European Distance and E-learning Network (EDEN) and celebration of the 20th anniversary of its establishment was held June 19-22 in Dublin, the capital of Ireland. A delegation from the OUC attended as the sole representative from China.

EDEN is the most influential and comprehensive distance education and e-learning organization in Europe. Though it is a regional organization, its annual conference has been developed into an international conference. This year's theme was "Learning and Sustainability:

Recently, Chairwoman Anne Elizabeth Ely, Vice Chairman Peter Ely, and Trustee Ling Thompson of the Sino-British Fellowship Trust (SBFT) visited China to attend the ceremony to re-sign the "Sino-British Fellowship Trust Project" agreement. They also attended three seminars held in the eastern, northwestern, and southwestern areas, featuring scholars who formerly participated in the project. After a comprehensive review of the academic activities of the scholars since their return to China, they gave an assessment of the success of the project thus far.


 On 22 March 2011, President Yang Zhijian of the Open University of China (OUC) met with a delegation from the Korea National Open University (KNOU) led by its President Nam-Chul Cho.

After a meeting with President Yang, Vice President Zhang Shaogang gave the delegates an introduction to the OUC, and also invited President Nam-Chul Cho to discuss the use of the Internet and IT in distance education in Korea. President Cho said that Korean students frequently use mobile devices such as pad computers and smart phones to apply for courses, learn and interact with tutors and their classmates. Vice President Zhang also expressed interest in the differences between KNOU and cyber universities in Korea discussed by President Cho.

 At the invitation of the Open University of China (OUC), a three-person delegation from the Open University of Japan (OUJ) led by Vice President Professor Yoshiaki Hamada paid a visit to the OUC on March 15-16, 2010. Mr. Ruan Zhiyong, Secretary of the OUC Party Committee, and Party Committee Vice Secretary Zhang Shaogang met with the delegation.

The OUC leaders extended their regards to the Japanese delegation

The 2011 EFA Global Monitoring Report Launch and 6th EFA National Forum was held on March 1st in Beijing, organized by UNESCO Beijing Office and the Chinese National Commission for UNESCO. Vice president of the Open University of China, Zhang Shaogang attended the forum.

The Dakar Framework for Action on Education for All (EFA)

The OUC recently signed a cooperation agreement with the CIBT Education Group initiating an international hotel management programme. The project aims to produce outstanding graduates in the field of hotel management in an effort to develop the high-end domestic market by introducing international curriculum resources and training methods. In order to promote this, a promotion conference on hotel management projects in Chinese radio and TV universities was held in Lianhua Hotel in Kunming, Yunnan.

On 14 October 2010, Ms. Gonzalez, Representative of the International Department, Open University of Catalonia (OUC), Spain, visited the Open University of China (OUC). Li Yawan, Director of the OUC International Cooperation and Exchange Division, gave her a warm reception. Yan Xiaoping, vice director of the OUC Academic Affairs Office, and Mao Dan, from the OUC Chinese Language Center, also attended the reception.

The two parties introduced the history,

The 24th AAOU (Asian Association of Open Universities) Annual Conference was held in Hanoi, Vietnam between October 26-28. This year's conference was themed "Open Distance Learning towards Building Sustainable Global Learning Communities" and sponsored by Hanoi Open University of Vietnam. 415 representatives from 22 countries and regions attended the academic exchange conference on distance education. A delegation headed by Zhang Hui, vice president of the Open University of China (OUC) attended the conference, at which the OUC was elected a member of the next AAOU Executive Committee (2011-2013).