On the morning of Jun. 27, a 3-member delegation from Open University, UK (OUUK) paid a friendly visit to Jiangsu Open University (JOU). The OUUK delegation was made up by Mr. Steve Hill, CEO of International Department, Mr. Neil Blakeman, Senior Consultant of Foreign Affairs Department and Ms. Yang Guangyu, Project Manager of Chinese Affairs of International Department. President Tang Jintu and Vice President Ye Xiaofeng from JOU have met with the delegation.

On May 30, 2013, Huang Hongwei, president of Jinhua Radio & TV University (Jinhua RTVU), and Jin Fangping, chairman of the Zhejiang China Commodity City Group Joint-stock Co., LTD. Signed a Cooperation Agreement to Establish a Training Base in the Yiwu Commodity Market for Jinhua RTVU’s E-business Programme, and a plaque for the establishment

The Office of the Steering Committee of the Ministry of Education for Education and Instruction in Vocational Education (hereinafter referred to as “the office”) held a workshop on “Vocational Higher Education Reform and the Construction of Pilot Schemes in Open Universities” in Wuhan from June 20-21, 2013. The workshop was attended

The Guangzhou Branch of the Open University of China (OUC) has been officially inaugurated at Guangzhou Radio and TV University (Guangzhou RTVU), signifying the completion of 52-year-old Guangzhou RTVU’s transformation into an open university. Vice Mayor of Guangzhou Wang Dong attended the unveiling ceremony.

Co-hosted by the Central Civilization Office and Chinese Civilization Network, “Best Chinese People” Awards in May have been announced recently. Lan Suwen, a student of Wencheng Branch of Zhejiang Radio & TV University (Zhejiang RTVU) who enrolled in the autumn of 2011 and majored in law, was selected as one of the “Most Dedicated Chinese People”.  

On June 6, 2013, Chongqing Radio and TV University (RTVU) launched its pilot programme of the Open Education Learner Support System (2013 Version) in the Digital Learner Harbor of its Continuing Education Institute. Fuling RTVU, Qianjiang RTVU, Yongchuan RTVU, Jiangong College and Continuing Education Institute are also included in the first group of pilot units.

The second session of the “International Chinese Teacher Training” project  organized by the OUC was held in Beijing from June 5-9, 2013. Key teachers and teaching management staff from Tianjin, Chongqing, Yunnan, Xinjiang, Inner Mongolia, Shandong, Anhui, Gansu, Heilongjiang, Guangxi, Chengdu, and Lanzhou attended this 5-day training programme.