Brief Introduction:

Established in 1992, the Open University of Tanzania (OUT) is a public university offering open and distance education in Tanzania and the first higher education institution in East Africa to offer professional certificate, diploma and degree courses through open and distance education. The OUT operates through a network of about 30 Regional Centres; 10 Coordinating Centres, of which one is in Zanzibar and one in Pemba; two are in Kenya (Egerton and Njoro), one is in Rwanda (Kibungo), one in Namibia and one in Uganda.OUT has also 69 Study Centres spread throughout the United Republic of Tanzania. Currently, there are more than 35,500 students studying at home and abroad.