The Secondary Technical School of the Open University of China (hereinafter referred to as the OUCSTS) is an open educational school, established by and attached to the OUC (formerly CCRTVU) with the approval of the former National Education Commission and under the leadership of the Department of Vocational and Adult Education of the Ministry of Education. It offers secondary technical degree education based on a modern tutoring approach and multi-media tutoring. It is responsible for the planning and coordination, instruction, and evaluation and supervision of secondary vocational teaching and teaching management within the national RTVU system, as well as the direct enrollment of junior middle school graduates and employed youths. The OUCSTS is qualified to confer national education level secondary degree education graduation certificates.

The OUCSTS and 44 provincial RTVU secondary technical schools and their branch schools have formed a nationwide RTVU secondary technical education and tutoring system, and about 3 million graduates have been cultivated.

In line with the needs of local populations, rural areas, employed workers, and different ethnic groups, and based on the philosophy of “service-oriented and employment-oriented” vocational education, the OUCSTS provides tutoring services for adult secondary technical education, practical skill training, qualification training, and on-the-job skill training in close combination with the need for practical personnel to enhance the development of social and economic construction. It is also active in exploring a tutoring and management model, and operating mechanism for university-enterprise cooperation, and the integration of work and study in the field of distance vocational education. Its projects, including “University-Enterprise Assisted Learning Trial”, “Phased Cultivation Through University-Enterprise Cooperation”, “Work-Study Program Trial”, have been carried out successfully, and the OUCSTS has been named as one of the vocational schools to hold work-study programme pilots.


Categories: agriculture and forestry; civil engineering and water conservancy engineering; processing and manufacturing; information technology; trade and tourism; finance and economics; social public affairs; transportation; culture and sports; and teacher training.

Majors: About 100 majors are offered at secondary technical schools throughout the country. The main majors include electromechanical machining; electronics application technique; logistics management; marketing; financial accounting; law; e-commerce; and computer applications. Specialty majors include automobile application and maintenance; cookery; preschool education; arts and crafts; e-commerce; computer graphic design; customer information services (for call centers); tourism services and management; jewelry processing and identification; animal husbandry and veterinary; health care; mechanotronics; oil exploration; and animation design and production.

Target learners

Junior and senior middle school graduates, as well as employees, veterans, and returned migrant workers with a junior middle school education.

Teaching approach

Full-time study: Teaching is provided in the form of face-to-face tutorials.

Spare-time study: Teaching is provided in the form of online, face-to-face, and individual tutorials.

Graduation and conference of certificates 

Students starting from a junior middle school level can complete schooling in two or three years; while senior middle school graduates can complete it in one year. Those who meet the requirements can get nationally recognized graduation certificates of secondary technical education.


The school is composed of the general office, the tutoring management centre, and the academic affairs (enrollment) office.

Contact us

General Office: (010) 66490416

Tutoring Management Centre: (010) 66490411

Academic Affairs (Enrollment) Office: (010) 66490420

Admissions Consultation: (010) 66490420