The degree programme in engineering offered by the Open University of China (OUC) began in 1979, when the Engineering Teaching Division was established with teaching and research divisions including Electronics, Electrical Engineering, Computing, Mechanical Engineering, Chemistry and English. In 1985, the Department of Electrical Engineering, the Department of Mechanical Engineering and the Department of Chemical Light Industry were established as a result of restructuring, and the Teaching and Research Division of Civil Engineering was added. In 1995, the departments and divisions were combined and renamed as the Engineering Teaching Division, and in 2007, as the School of Engineering. At present, the School consists of three departments: Department of Computer Science and Technology, the Department of Mechanical and Automation Engineering, and the Department of Civil Engineering.

Over three decades of development from the Engineering Teaching Division to the School of Engineering, the School has provided distance education programmes at multiple levels, including diploma programmes for full-time students and part-time students, open entrance diploma courses and degree courses, and master's degree education in engineering. The number of all types of graduates has exceeded a million.

School Officers:

Dean: Guo Hong
Vice Dean: Yuan Wei

Diploma and Degree Programmes:

Since the implementation of the "Pilot Programme for Reform on Talent Cultivation Mode and Open Education", which was approved by the Ministry of Education in 1999, the School of Engineering has provided five degree programmes and ten diploma programmes. The degree programmes starting from diploma level include Computer Science and Technology, Software Engineering, Mechanical Design, Manufacturing and Automation, Civil Engineering, and Water Conservancy and Hydropower Engineering. The open entrance diploma programmes include Computer Network Technology, Computer Information Management, Information Systems Development and Maintenance, CNC Technology, CNC Technology (Electrical Engineering), Construction and Management, Project Costing, Construction and Management of Roads and Bridges, Water Conservancy and Hydropower Engineering and Management, and Interior Design.

Teaching Staff:

There are 19 full-time teachers working at the School of Engineering, 3 administrative staff, 7 part-time teachers who also work at other departments of the University, 64 part-time teachers from other universities and organizations (major universities and trade associations that the School cooperates with). Among all the teachers, there are 34 professors, 40 associate professors and senior engineers, 16 lecturers, among whom 11 have doctoral degrees and 64 have master's degrees. To ensure high-quality provision of its courses, the School has invited nearly a hundred senior professors and scholars from conventional universities, such as Tsinghua University and Beijing Jiaotong University to work as chief editors and course presenters. 

Contact Us:

Add: 75 Fuxing Road, School of Engineering, The Open University of China, 
       Haidian District, Beijing, 100039, P.R. China

Tel: (+86)10 57519190

Email:This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.