The Chinese language and literature programme (junior college programme) was started in 1982. In the beginning, the Ministry of Education entrusted the related arts faculties of Peking University, Beijing Normal University, and Renmin University of China to help with the CCRTVU’s development of the programme. The junior college open education programme for Chinese language and literature was offered in 2005.

By the end of 2005, about 400,000 Chinese language and literature majors had graduated from the junior college programme and by 2013, about 50,000 had graduated as majors in Chinese literature in the junior college programme. At present, there are 40,000 students enrolled in school.

Since the offering of Chinese language and literature (junior college programme) and open education, cooperation has been carried out with such institutions of higher education as Peking University, Beijing Normal University, Renmin University of China, and Wuhan University.

Famous experts and scholars, including Wang Li, Kuang Xing, Yuan Xingpei, Zhang Zhigong, Wang Yichuan, Xie Mian, Chen Sihe, Wen Rumin, Chen Dun, Yang Xin and Guo Xiliang, have been invited to act as chief editors and lecturers.