The year 1996 saw the start of the degree education for law programme (diploma-to-degree programme). According to the requirements of Pilot Programme for the Reform of Ways of Learner Development and Open Education in 1999, the China Central Radio and TV University (CCRTVU) and the China University of Political Science and Law jointly offered the diploma-to-degree undergraduate degree programme in law. In the same year, the Teaching and Research Division of Jurisprudence was changed to the Department of Jurisprudence. In 2003, Uighur-Chinese bilingual law degree programme and Mongolian-Chinese bilingual law were offered to minority areas.

In the open education programmes from 1999 to 2011, a total of 566,895 undergraduate students were enrolled and the period from the autumn semester of 1999 to the spring semester of 2011 saw a total of 350,866 degree graduates, with 13,303 of them awarded degrees in law, accounting for about 3.8% of the total graduates. Now there are 142,478 students enrolled in school.

A number of experts and scholars have been invited to be course chief editors and lectures for the degree law programmes. They are Professor Pu Jian and Jia Junling from Peking University, Professor Liang Shuying, Professor Zhao Xianglin, Professor Zhao Xudong, Professor Wang Weiguo, Professor Wang Chuanli, Professor Huang Qinnan, Professor Ning Zhiyuan, Professor Fan Chongyi and Professor Luo Haocai from China University of Political Science and Law.

The three courses of Chinese Legal History, International Law, and Labour Law were selected by the Ministry of Education as national outstanding courses respectively in 2007 and 2008; and Commercial Law, International Economics Law, Contract Law and Private International Law were selected as outstanding courses of the RTVU system.

The advertising programme was initiated in 2006 and in 2012 art design was added to it. The programme was launched in cooperation with the Communication University of China, which gave academic support and conferred bachelor degrees on the eligible graduates. In 2010, the cooperation was switched to Wuhan University, and it is the responsibility of that university to confer bachelor degrees. By the end of 2013, advertising had seen 1,407 graduates and 2,495 students enrolled in school. Since the offering of advertising, cooperation has been carried out with regular institutions of higher education, such as Peking University, Tsinghua University, Renmin University, the Communication University of China, Wuhan University, Xiamen University, the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Beijing Technology and Business University, and such social institutions as the China Advertising Association. A number of famous national experts and scholars have been invited to act as chief editors or lecturers, including Ding Junjie, Ma Mouchao, Chen Peiai, Zhang Jinhai, Ni Ning, Li Bin, Peng Jixiang, Dong Lijing, and Rao Dejiang. They have compiled the teaching material series of Overview of Advertising, Theory and Practice of Advertising Psychology, A Course Book for History of Chinese and Foreign Advertisement, Mass Communication, Principles of Aesthetics, Advertising Creativity and Manifestation, and Principles and Practice of Advertising Planning. By now, the course of History of Chinese and Foreign Advertisement has been selected as national outstanding courses for resource sharing; and the three courses of History of Chinese and Foreign Advertisement, Online Advertising Practice, and Advertising Creativity and Manifestation have been selected as outstanding courses of the RTVU system.